Some Tips on Heirloom Gardening

Hey, everyone!  As you may have gathered, I’m a beginning gardener, but this is a good thing because I can share some of the resources I’m using!

First of all, I’m a huge lover of books (hey, that’s my family’s livelihood), and I think they can be a lot more physically convenient than the internet and hopefully more reliable.  (Of course, I’m always using the internet for research too).  Anywho, here are a couple books I really like for beginning heirloom gardening:

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Heirloom Vegetables by Chris McLaughlin

Talking Dirt: The Dirt Diva’s Down-to-Earth Guide to Organic Gardening by Annie Spiegelman

Also, knowing when to plant vegetables in the Phoenix area can be challenging, we’re in a very distinct zone: 13 (it really says a lot, unfortunately).  I like to go by the planting calendar for my zip code that I found on The Urban Farm’s Tidbits page.

And of course, actually getting those precious seeds to plant is super important (and exciting).  I like to support my local nurseries, but I also like supporting fellow Etsy shop owners, so I get a lot of my seeds from my favorite gardening store: Sophie’s Seeds and Swine.  They’re very affordable, have a wide variety, great customer service, and everything is shipped ASAP.  Check it out!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Any comments?

